Home > Business, Technology > TechStars

TechStars

 

A post at TechCrunch yesterday sparked my interest in a new documentary “reality TV” show, which premiered last night on Bloomberg TV, about a group called TechStars.  I had only briefly heard of the organization before, which is best described by their own words:

TechStars is the #1 startup accelerator in the world.  We’re very selective – Although thousands of companies apply each year, we only take about ten companies per program. We have selection rates lower than the Ivy League, so you have to be among the best of the best to be in TechStars.

The show, which will give viewers an inside look on the TechStars process of mentoring 10 startups from the “class of 2011,”  could be worth watching for numerous reasons.  First, it could give me an inside look to the types of ideas that could be emerging in technology and cloud computing in the coming years.  Secondly, and of a bigger interest to me, it could provide a better view of how startups like these need to refine their ideas, present to investors, and work with different companies to support them.  

I haven’t been able to watch the premier episode yet, or the trailer, so I could be wrong about the show.  What I do know is that I have had family set my home DVR to record the show, and I will need to sit down and watch it when I get back.  Hopefully, my predictions of the shows content are correct and there will be something valuable and insight recorded back home.  In my mind that is a rarity with reality TV.

 

 

TechStars – Top Minds In Tech from Elizabeth Gould on Vimeo.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

