Home > Design > Modular, Modern, and Container Homes

Modular, Modern, and Container Homes

For several years now I have been a big fan of modular modern homes, and then when container homes began to grow in popularity I found I liked them too.  I never know if I will own one, but the industrial aesthetic appeals to me.  So finding that one of my favorite producers of modular homes, Hive Modular, is also designing container homes like the one bellow:

While I don’t find this particular building to be the best container home/cabin I have ever seen it definitely fulfills the criteria it was designed to.  Simple and functional.  While simplicity finds a place in my ‘good design’ criteria, I have some high hopes from this firm to post some more pictures of completed projects that will really wow me.  Surprisingly a container house that has done that, while remaining simple in concept, was found in a movie.  Tron: Legacy in fact.  Bellow is a picture of Sam Flynn’s house in the movie.

My favorite container home so far

Despite knowing it is a movie prop and was designed to look like it hadn’t been, I like the unchanged exterior of the containers and simple creation of open space in the home inspire me.  Perhaps it could be the base of future designs to actually be built.  Checking out a list of container homes at ContainerBay I found some that were similar, like this one by Adam Kalkin, called the Quick House:

On a more sophisticated note I found this house bellow on another WordPress blog.  The post by Jody Forehand, titled Ship Me a Building: Used Shipping Containers as Architecture lead off with the house bellow.  While there were little details on the project it points to a more creative use of shipping containers.

Jody’s post is worth a read for its short synopsis of various container projects, not all of which are homes.

I also liked  Jetson Green’s 15 Shipping Container Projects of 2010.  The post covers some of the smaller and more affordable projects.  These ideas could make an impact in both urban areas as well as those recently struck by disaster, but the post also happens to mention a container building in my home town of Milwaukee.

  1. September 8, 2011 at 3:37 pm | #1

    I am fascinated with the container home concept and I plan on taking a shot at one. There are some amazing ones out in Los Angeles by the beach.

    • September 9, 2011 at 10:15 am | #2

      Unfortunately we don’t see as many homes in Wisconsin that push the boundaries like this, I would love to see some and how they incorporate into the area. When you plan on doing one?

  2. September 9, 2011 at 11:17 pm | #3

    Great to see your interest in Container Homes.

    Feel free to download a copy of our book

    The 30 Most Influential Container Homes Ever Built.

  3. Jim
    August 21, 2013 at 8:39 pm | #4

    The advantages of using shipping containers as your construction building blocks include:

    They are inexpensive. A used container will cost between $800 and $6000 each, depending on size, age, condition and distance from the building site. Each 40 foot container gives you 320 square feet. .

    Energy concerns. It takes far less energy to reuse shipping containers in a building than to melt them down and reform then into steel beams. Add solar panels and even the ongoing energy use will be green.

    Examples of plans can be found HERE- goo.gl/Es8rYu

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

